Key Note Speakers List For 6th BSC, 2014

Inaugural Keynote Speaker

Dr. Saurav Pal, Director of National Chemical Laboratory, Pune

He is Director, CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory, Pune
Adjunct Professor of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune.

Dr. Sourav Pal took over as the ninth Director of CSIR-NCL with effect from 1st December 2010. Previously he had served as the head of Physical and Materials Chemistry Division at the National Chemical Laboratory (CSIR-NCL), Pune from 2002 to 2010. Dr. Pal is a distinguished theoretical chemist. He has contributed to diverse areas of theoretical chemistry which span the intellectually demanding and challenging aspects of methodological and conceptual developments. His contribution to the response theory formulation for closed and open shell atomic and molecular systems is well recognised in India and abroad. He has contributed significantly to the area of chemical reactivity and density functional theory response. In recent years he has contributed to the catalytic and hydrogen storage materials using computational material science to interesting chemical applications.
Dr. Pal brings with him, apart from his extra-ordinary scholarship and contributions to science, a deep understanding of CSIR-NCL and has had privilege of working with four previous Directors of CSIR-NCL namely Dr. L.K. Doraiswamy (1978-1989), Dr. R. A. Mashelkar (1989-1995), Dr Paul Ratnasamy (1995-2002) and Dr. S. Sivaram (2002-2010).

Dr Sourav Pal obtained his integrated masters degree in Chemistry from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur in 1977. He received his Ph.D. degree from Calcutta University and joined CSIR-NCL in 1982. He was a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Florida, Gainesville, USA (1986-87) and has been Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at the University of Heidelberg, Germany (1987). He was a visiting Professor at the University of Arizona, Tucson, USA (1995) and the Institute for Molecular Sciences, Okazaki, Japan (1997). He is currently also an adjunct Professor at Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Pune.

Dr. Pal has been recognised by several awards and honours for his contribution to science and technology including the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Chemical Sciences in 2000. He is a recipient of the Prof. R. P. Mitra Memorial Lecture Award, Delhi University, 2010, INSA Dr Jagdish Shankar Memorial lecture Award, 2006, Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) Silver Medal, 2009, Bimla Churn Law memorial Lecture Award of IACS, Kolkata, 2005, P. B. Gupta Memorial Award of IACS, 1993 as well as INSA and CSIR Young Scientist Awards in 1987 and 1989, respectively. He is a Fellow of The Indian National Science Academy (2003), Indian Academy of Sciences (1996) and National Academy of Science (1998). He is also a Fellow of The Maharashtra Academy of Sciences (1994), J.C. Bose National Fellow of Department of Science and Technology from 2008 and Dai-ichi Karkaria Endowment fellow of ICT, Mumbai, 2004-05. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2011). He is elected as the President of Chemical Research Society of India for a tenure of three years from April 1, 2014. He is also the first recipient of SASTRA-CNR Rao Award in Chemistry & Materials Science for the year 2014.

Dr. Pal serves on the editorial boards of several international and national journals in chemistry and has guided over 20 Ph.D. theses. He has published about 200 papers in International peer reviewed journals. He has authored a book titled “Mathematics in Chemistry” and contributed to chapters in several books. He is invited to deliver plenary / keynote / highlighted lectures in several institutios and national conferences over the years. He delivered Charles A Coulson Lecture in University of Georgia, February, 2014

Technical Session

Dr. Kesava Raju V., Mission Director Mars Mission, ISRO

His team is responsible for monitoring the Mars Mission following its launch, including tracking it in outer space. Dr. Kesava Raju is the man responsible to handle all post-launch activities of MOM.

Subject area : Space
Prof (Dr) K. L. Chopra (Padamshri) FNA, FASc, FNASc, FNAE, D.Sc.(hc)

He is Honorary Professor, IITD, IITBN, BESU and ITM, Chairman, BoG, BBIT and HDF–SoM. He was Former Director of Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. He is President, Society for Scientific Values

Subject area : Nano Technology/Plenary Keynote Topic: The Future of Nanotechnology

He is Head, Division of Agricultural Structures & Environmental Control, Central Institute of Post-Harvest Engineering & Technology (CIPHET), Ludhiana - 141 004,

Subject area : Chemical Sciences/Technical Session
Dr. Barun Kumar Mehta

He is Associate Professor Department of Chemistry NATIONAL DEFENCE ACADEMY, KHADAKWASLA, PUNE-411023, MAHARASHTRA, INDIA
Tel +0091-20-25294500 (R), 26026687(O) Mob: 09422539557
Email -

Subject area : Chemical Sciences/Technical Session
Prof. Virendra K. Yadav, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Kanpur

Subject area : Chemical Sciences/Technical Session
Prof. S. N. Tiwary

He is Director, Academic Staff College, BRA Bihar University, Muzaffarpur, Bihar, India

Subject area : Physical Science/Technical Session
Prof. H.C Verma, Dept. of Physics, IIT Kanpur

Subject area : Physical Sciences/Plenary Session
Dr. Ram Janay Choudhary

He is Scientist-E,SQUID-VSM and PLD lab UGC-DAE Consoritum for Scientific Research(CSR),Indore, India

Subject area : Physical Sciences/Technical Session
Dr. Manis Kumar Jha

He is Assistant Director Scientist E-I, Metal Extraction & Forming Division, National Metallurgical Laboratory (CSIR), Jamshedpur, India

Subject area : Chemical Sciences/Plenary Session
Prof. R.K.Sinha

He is Head, Dept. of Zoology Patna University, Bihar, India

Subject area : Animal Sciences/Plenary Session
Dr. Abul Farah, Dept. of Zoology, College of Sciences, King Saud University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Subject area : Biotechnology/Technical Session
Dr. Irphan Ghazi, Dept. Plant Sciences, School of Life Sciences, University of Hyderabad, AP, India

Subject area : Biotechnology/Technical Session